I've got a concert and a tenor - Which would you have as high G and which as low G?

GradySeasons

Reaction score
I recently started learning on a concert ukelele and then found a great deal on a tenor, so now I have two ukes. I'm keeping both. Should I string high G on the concert and low G on the tenor, or vice versa? Or string them both to high G? What would you do? Thanks

But that is not to say unequivocally that you can't string a concert low G, just that some will sound better than others. Same with soprano.
Many threads on here that show that you can do just about anything, and that those who do experiment more often than not are satisfied with their results. But for the OP question the obvious answer is to go with design default unless there are some very special circumstances that were not disclosed.

For me, in general: concert high and tenor low.

Like Ploverwing said, you have to try both on both. It's all about how each specific instrument reacts. Likely the concert they are both high already, so put a low on the tenor first as it may sound more "robust" with a low G. You will either like it, or not.

Last edited:
You can do whatever you want. I don't dabble in the smaller sizes but I have two tenors. One is tuned linear and the other is re-entrant. That way all my bases are covered. That's what I would do. Of course, if a high-G or low-G configuration doesn't sound good to your ear on one of the ukes, you can always change it back. It isn't all that complicated. Don't go into analysis paralysis; just put some strings on those things and see how you like it.

And as for which to switch--that depends on your style. If you are a strummer who just plays the lower 3 frets or so, then it doesn't matter. On the other hand, I am more of an individual note kind of guy. My tenors have 19 frets and I play them all. So, for me, it makes more sense to tune low-G and make the most of that scale's range.

Last edited: