Low Action?

That's almost like a bartender saying," If you want more than a shot and a beer go someplace else!"

I’m not an expert on anything at all, but as a layman, I always figured that this was the aim of a low action — to get it as low as possible without buzzing. And my guess is that if there is buzzing, you’ve gone lower than is possible. If it were possible to go lower, then you could go lower without a buzz. Am I wrong?

Whats a little buzzing 🐝

Buzz away, ;) 🐝

If you get the action as low as possible with a light or medium touch, it WILL buzz if you ever have to 'dig in' & play louder passages. It's a trade off you'll have to make for easier playing.

Players of low action fretted instruments need a refined touch. Instrument buzz can be the result of technique.
Indeed. A lot of very advanced musicians (better than me, anyway!) prefer an action that many would consider too high. Look at the action on classical guitars! It can give more dynamic range.

There’s more problems than just string buzz. I’ll quote Mim’s who probably knows more about setups than anyone else.
She says on her FAQ page:

“Some problems include fingers hitting the fretboard and buzzing on the frets or saddle. But the biggest thing people don't realize is often it will destroy the tone of their ukulele. So please trust me that I will go as low as is ideal for your ukulele. But I have had too many times where I have audibly heard a lively uke go dead when someone has insisted on insanely low action.”

Indeed. A lot of very advanced musicians (better than me, anyway!) prefer an action that many would consider too high. Look at the action on classical guitars! It can give more dynamic range.