Music theory - basic, ground floor, absolute beginner

Plonky-tonk

Reaction score
I wanted to get down to the very basics and moseyed around the App Store looking for a children’s level teaching app. Then did some googling. After some frustration I found https://www.musictheory.net/ which was exactly what I wanted. The site is free and there are two apps containing the same material to purchase that you can use offline. (I bought both of them, they are a few dollars each.)

The free sample of the “Waay” app by Ten Kettle was delicious, but at $100 it was beyond my budget.

I highly recommend the book "Music Theory for Ukulele" by David Shipway.

Working through the Shipway book. “Chapter 6: Building the Chord Family” just fizzed and sparked though my brain. It makes sense! I get it! I’m so excited, I want to share it with somebody!

You guys!!!! This is SOOOOOOO cool!!!!

“Ukulele From Scratch” by Bruce Emery

More music theory for beginners. I’ve had this book for a while, and worked on it for a couple years. For some reason, it just didn’t stick in my brain. I hauled this one out again, to compare it to the Shipway book I’m working on. The Emery seems a bit cluttered (if that’s the right word)? The Shipway is very straightforward, with laser-like focus (which I need). While the Emery is full of musical examples and song snippets to illustrate each bit of theory. Lots of examples and lots of tongue-in-cheek and absurd humor.

I think I will get more out of “Ukulele From Scratch” if I finish “Music Theory for Ukulele” first. I’ll use the Emery to illustrate what I learn from the Shipway.