Music Theory Question - Playing Harmony on a Baritone

nancejo

Reaction score
Okay, I am a bit new to music - 9 months now. I finally learned that playing a musical instrument or listening to music is the equivalent of making love or just watching p***. I am having so much fun going to song circles. Okay, enough of the sidebar.

I was discussing "harmony" with a music instructor. He said in simple terms it it playing the 5th above what key the rest of the band is playing in. If that is true, can I play the same chords shapes (they play C, I play G) on my baritone uke in a ukelele song circle and be playing harmony with the rest of the people? Is it just that simple? Are there any drawbacks to do that?

I am not a music theoretician, but in general I think the answer is NO - at least it didn't work for me when I tried playing my baritone with the same chord shapes as others in my group playing regular ukuleles. I finally got tired of transposing chords in my head, and just quit bringing my baritone to meet-ups.

Most of the time a note will be in harmony with other notes when it is a couple of notes in the scale above or below it. Think about the notes in the C chord (all in the C scale) for example. To make it really simplified we can usually play the I, III, and V notes in the scale (C, E, G). Those notes are all in harmony.

The notes in a C chord fingered in position 1 are C G E C on a soprano.
The notes in a G chord fingered in position 1 are D G B F on a baritone.

Usually notes that are right beside each other, do not sound in harmony. Hit two adjacent keys on a piano keyboard to see what I mean. In the above, the C on the uke will clash with the D on the baritone, as will the E and F, and B and C.

Last edited: