Need help with tuning G string.

starcolony

Reaction score
Greetings,

I am a beginner ukulele player. I played for a couple of months, then put it down for over a year.

I decided tonight to pick it back up again and get playing again.

I grabbed a tuner and proceeded to tune. The G string was waaay low. C, E, and A were only a little off. C-E-A all sound loud, bright, and clean.

I have a Peterson clip-on tuner as well as using an online tuner.

The G seemed extremely slow to come up to tune. As I continued to turn the tuning peg, the pitch slowly creeps higher and higher, but the sound gets worse.

I finally got G up to the correct note, but now G sounds muffled and lousy. The string also feels overly tight. I'm concerned something is going to break.

The bridge and nut look fine. The G string isn't muted with any physical contact along the neck.

It is a KALA tenor uke in Pacific walnut. The G just doesn't want to tune and sounds like crap. I love the overall sound of this uke and need to get this sorted out.

I also own a beautiful mahogany aNueNue. As a comparison, I pulled it out and tuned it up. After the 1 year hiatus it was only slightly out of tune. The strings feel and sound just like they should. Amazingly, it sounds better now than when I last put it down. I can use this fine uke to get started again, but want to get the Kala sorted out for outdoor and travel use.

I'm hoping someone is familiar with this problem and can help me get properly tuned and toned.

Thanks, TR

image0.jpeg
image1.jpeg
image2.jpeg

Conjecture: from the picture, it looks like you may have a low G string in the #4 position.

Tuning to GCEA (low G):
If you play an A on the #4 G string (2nd fret), it should sound one octave lower than the #1 A string.

Tuning to gCEA (high G):
If you play an A on the #4 G string (2nd fret), it should sound the same as (be in unison with) the #1 A string.