NUD-Custom Commemorative Ukulele from Pops

efiscella

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
As many of your know, I have been helping Alvin "Pops KoAloha" Okami with his custom ukulele orders since 2016 when I brought a group of High School aged show choir members (Harmony Show Choir) to the Koaloha factory for a tour. The choir was from Mainstage Center for the Arts, in Blackwood, NJ, a non-profit arts center that I started in 1989 to help provide opportunities for kids who want to sing and dance, and not necessarily kick a soccer ball or be on a field. These kids also needed an outlet that would allow them to shine. I was a middle school English teacher for 33 years, and then with Mainstage for 35 years and counting. After meeting Pops and working with him on making the Wow ukulele for the kids, known as the "Harmony Wow," Pops asked me to help him with a website and be a social media contact since he is not on the internet.

This year marks my 35th year as the founder and artistic director at Mainstage and I retired from my artistic director position. We had a huge anniversary show and weekend events and I was touched by the many alumni who returned from all around the world to be a part of this reunion and culminating event for me. What I did not realize was that the team putting together the event wanted to get a gift for me that was significant, and memorable. They secretly reached out to Pops and asked him, "We know how much he (Ed) loves your work on custom ukuleles, so we wanted to see if it would be possible to have a ukulele engraved with our logo and the number 35 as a gift to surprise him with at his retirement party." I cannot begin to tell you the emotions that I felt when they presented me with this beautiful ukulele, handcrafted with love, by Pops.