Strings Rebel Double Creme Replacement Strings?

magicspeller

Reaction score
I just had a string break on my Rebel Double Creme concert, so I obviously need to find replacement strings. I just did a search and it appears that the original strings (The Rebel Excella?) are not readily available. I have seen Brown Worth, Living Waters, and Uke Logic strings recommended for replacements.

This is my first time replacing strings and I have no experience with any of these brands. Most of my ukes have Aquilla strings so I know pretty much nothing about strings.

How would you describe these brands? How do they compare with each other and with The Rebel strings? Are there others you would recommend?

Rebel strings seem to be clear fluorocarbon. If you want to keep the same tone and feel, stay with clear fluorocarbon strings.
Any brand will get you in the ballpark.
Martin strings are a good start, cheap, good and readily available to most. Use M600 for standard feel. M620 if you'd like more tension.
Worth clear are fantastic too and tend to intonate perfectly. Worth brown will have a bit less sparkle and more of a warm thunk.
Plenty of other good choices out there.

I like the Uke Logics as a replacement on the Rebels. Living Water should be good as well. The Ukulele Site was selling Rebel strings the last time I looked. But they do run out.

TUS/HMS carries Excellas. Worth clears have been suggested in a prior thread. If you're in a pinch for a replacement, I'd get whatever clear fluorocarbons are readily available, m600 ought to be fine...then find a more permanent solution if you don't like those.

Last edited:
My problem is not knowing how Excellas compare. They sound good to me, but I'm far from a good judge. I have two questions:

1. Should I install new Excellas, or are there better options (or ones that I will want to try)?
2. If I were to install alternative strings, what are my choices and how do they compare?