Tips for hand pain while finger picking

Shaw

Reaction score
This one is a bit personal, but know I can't be the only one to experience this, so I thought I'd ask for other people's experiences and advice.

I moved from guitar to ukulele a few years ago and primarily finger pick a tenor. I had a medical issue that has resulted in joint pain and decreased mobility. Over the last few months, 10-15 minutes of finger picking leaves me with hand pain and even locking joints. This means I'm playing less and ending my sessions frustrated. I think a significant portion of this issue could be attributed to bad habits from being self taught, especially resting my pinky finger on the sound board to stabilize my hand. That's what locks up first.

Any tips? Relearn and revise my finger picking style? Embrace it as part of aging (though I'm only in my 30s) and move toward strumming more and picking less?

Normally I would say if you’re in your 30’s, finger picking should NOT cause any real pain. But you said you had a medical condition, and a doctor I am not. After your medical condition, do other things make your fingers hurt or just playing the uke?

I think a general rule we can all benefit to remember is to play lighter. Only press, strum, pluck, etc. as much as necessary and no harder. At the very least it wastes energy and in the worst case it can create tension and pain.

If you’re locking your picking hand pinky ramrod straight onto the soundboard/pressing in with force, and it hurts that’s probably a good place to start troubleshooting. Try to lightly touch and if that still hurts, see if you can get away with no pinky touching (but some people can be really thrown off without that touch reference point).

I hope you can get this figured out! I’ll add the generic ask your doctor what they think about this and please don’t take my random musings as medical advice…!