Ukulele potential

MentalAtom

Reaction score
I sometimes think that the fact that the uke is so "easy" to learn is also its biggest disadvantage. I'm no pro, not by any means, but I was playing a couple of years now and can play some basic fingerstyle pieces, use my barre chords, start to find the notes up/down the neck, do scales etc. and I love that there's always more to learn.

The thing is, I know/have met several people who proudly declare to me that they can "play the uke" because they can play open C/D/G/Am/F or whatever, but if you actually give them music to play they're stumped! Now, I'm not trying to be discouraging, obviously you have to start somewhere, but I feel like because these chords are so easy to play, a lot of people get that far and never feel the need to go any further, and it's such a shame!

The uke has so much potential - beautiful fingerpicking arrangements, wonderful other tones from the more complex chord shapes, low G - all of these things and way more, but so many people get "stuck" because they can play something so easily there's no motivation to go further.

Thoughts?

(I'm a weirdly driven person and when I do something I do something, so maybe it's just my weird thoughts ;))

To clarify, because I seem to have a touched a nerve with some people: I'm not trying to discourage or disparage anyone, if you just play some basic chords and you're happy, be happy!

It's just that to me, personally, there's so much more potential and I'm curious why you think so many people stop there. Lack of resources? Just having what they need to enjoy it? Whatever else?

Like I say I'm a very driven person and I always want to know more, so I'm just curious about your thoughts.

😎 Please don't be offended, it's not my intention at all! I'm happy for anyone that can play the uke and if it brings you joy then go for it!

Last edited: