want to replace friction pegs with geared tuners

Status
Not open for further replies.

lonsilog

Reaction score
Hi all,

I recently "acquired" a new uke, but it will come with friction peg tuners (it should arrive this week). I have no experience with friction pegs, and I've read beaucoup de posts about friction vs geared. Though I really should wait to see if I would like them, I am the type to already do extensive research on it, in case I would like to replace them.

How easy will it be to replace these? I would like to do it myself, but I also don't want to play around with a brand new uke only to "F" it up. The alternative option is to have a luthier do it, but I would rather not spend more money... especially if it is something I can do myself.

If it was a cheapo uke, then I wouldn't mind as much.

Any comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

easiest, worry free way? Take it to a Luthier!

Not as easy or worry free? I would personally take lots of pictures and measurements, and ask the peeps in the luthiers lounge part of the forum for their advice. there are tons of great craftsmen in there that are great to help out.

Friction tuners work fine do not change them. In my opinion geared tuners do not belong on a soprano or concert ukulele. It is like putting geared tuners on a violin.

Or you could compromise and go for Peghead tuners, which look like wooden violin tuners and act like geared tuners. There are a few sizes out there for different hole widths and such.

But seriously, depending on how well installed the frictions were, and what kind they are, it's just as simple as using geared tuners.

Friction tuners get a bad rap. They work fine.

Geared tuners are probably easier for a newbie to tune. That said, they will add weight to your headstock and could shift the balance of the instrument in a way that many people don't like.

Pegheds are great, but expensive and they may require reaming/bushing of holes.