Why is the use of straps more contentious in the uke community than with other fretted instruments?

Uke with Smitty

Reaction score
Sigh...another thread about uke straps? Haha, yep.

I grew up with a lot of instruments in the house. We had a dulcimer on top of the fireplace mantle. I was bought a guitar at a young age and then got into mandolin. I messed around with banjo, bass, and eventually got into the uke a few years ago after a few years of acoustic guitar being my main instrument. Throughout my experiences with all of these instruments, I never experienced a serious conversation about straps. Most people use them (especially when standing) but my main point is it wasn't really a big deal one way or the other. You either used one or you didn't and it wasn't really a topic of conversation.

Then when I started playing uke a few years ago I noticed using a strap/or not can be an intense point of debate and cause people to make categorical statements. People have said installing a strap button ruins the instrument. I've heard many people say learning with a strap can hold beginners back from learning proper technique. Others say that it's not traditional and no one needs one. There especially seems to be an aversion to using a strap with a soprano (which I guess I kind of get because it seems to be easiest size to hold well without one and a strap can stand out the most aesthetically on such a small instrument).