Comparing Lanikai and Kala

toumorokoshi

Reaction score
I have been learning guitar for around 2 years and am new to ukuleles. I would like to choose my very first ukulele. I have browsed through the website of the music stores at my area, and picked a couple based on my affordable price range.
  • Lanikai CDST-C (Solid Cedar top, Mahagony laminate back and sides)
  • Lanikai MAS-C (All Solid Mahogany)
  • Kala KA-ACP-CTG (Solid Cedar Top line features Acacia back and sides)
Since I am new, not sure if anyone can share me any insights on the brands or the 3 models. I am trying to see if they can let me try it out, not sure if there are any things I should pay attention to when I am picking the one among these 3?

Both Lanikai and Kala have a reputation for coming from the factory with too high string action at the nut. A good store will usually inspect and fix that for you for free, but Amazon is not a good dealer.

That particular Kala model sounds pretty nice for the price. I have no experience with those Lanikai's. Lanikai is carried by few local dealers around here. One thing to look for is that newer Lanikai models usually have a slightly wider neck than Kala (not including the made-in-California Kalas, which are even wider than Lanikai). People with thicker fingers often prefer a wider neck, while people with shorter fingers often prefer a narrower neck.

I have a Kala and Concert KA15 ukes. They sound great and I still give them a play now and then.
The action on both of mine is ok. Amazon we’re great for me.. They even gave me the Concert version for free when I had an issue with delivery.

To my knowledge, Kala was sort of a spin-off from Lanikai, and they still use some of the same Chinese factories for their ukes. Therefore, in many cases, the ukes from the two companies will differ only in labeling.