Song Help Request Easy popular song for a beginner to learn

ddmhnl

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and I have a KoAhloa tenor uke. Trying to learn Islands in the Sun by Weezer but it may be a bit over my head right now - just started to learn how to play. Can anyone suggest an easier song to learn that is a popular tune? If there is a UU video of it, that would be great to know.

Thanks!!!:)

popular is relative. i honeslty think trying the drop baby drop is a good starting point. for a lot of local kids that was one of the first.

if you want easy and popular (to local kids as in hawai`i kids) = ka`au crater boys "surf"

I'm a newbie and I have a KoAhloa tenor uke. Trying to learn Islands in the Sun by Weezer but it may be a bit over my head right now - just started to learn how to play. Can anyone suggest an easier song to learn that is a popular tune? If there is a UU video of it, that would be great to know.

Thanks!!!:)
I would suggest goin to TSH Local Jams and pick a tune you're familiar with or one you hear on the local stations. Most of the songs listed there have chords.

What bands do you like? Most bands have at least one tune that's easy to play (or can be interpreted that way).

Thanks everyone for their replies. I like Weezer but that song just has too many chords to learn right now. I like Iz, Eric Clapton, Keola Beamer - I enjoy both current pop/rock stuff and Hawaiian music. Since I am still learning how to read tabs, I need EASY stuffs.

I will give it a try however, I thought there were some intricate picking parts in Wonderful Tonight. Everyone has been so helpful at UU. Thank you

my advice is to learn the chords and strum patterns of songs before u learn the pickings, i think that shud help u out at first. At first i started learning alot of riffs and such but i couldnt play an actual song, which isnt good.