Aloha from Western North Carolina

MelTheUker

Reaction score
Greetings, UU!

I am very new to playing the ukulele. I bought my first one, a Makala MK-C, just prior to this new year and started learning with Andy Ukulele on YouTube. When my fingers were too sore to play I started reading all I could online about the ukulele and of course came across UU. This is my first foray into playing a stringed instrument. I played (still play a little) concert flute and dabbled in piano when I was much younger.

I have been lurking the forum and have learned quite a bit doing that. Thanks to the UU community for that!

I quickly developed a desire to purchase a handmade Hawaiian uke, and found myself perusing the ukes for sale at The Ukulele Site. I'm excited to say that my KoAloha Koa Concert Royal Pikake was delivered on Tuesday! It sounds so beautiful, and so now I am loving learning even more.

I became a member of Matt Stead's website and am working through the beginner course. I have searched for local ukulele instructors and am having a challenge finding someone that is available to give lessons when I am available to take them. Hopefully that will work out some day!

For now I am going to try to keep playing daily. I look forward to learning more, especially finger picking! Aloha!

Welcome to the UU forums, and I'm delighted to hear that you've found such a wonderful instrument to learn on! That goes a long way to making it a joy to learn to play. Looking forward to hearing more about your ukulele journey as you care to share 😊

Greetings, UU!

I am very new to playing the ukulele. I bought my first one, a Makala MK-C, just prior to this new year and started learning with Andy Ukulele on YouTube. When my fingers were too sore to play I started reading all I could online about the ukulele and of course came across UU. This is my first foray into playing a stringed instrument. I played (still play a little) concert flute and dabbled in piano when I was much younger.