Newbie Koaloha Tenor Ukulele

Dan Uke

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
??? Who knew Koaloha Tenor Ukuleles are strung with Low G?????

Hi guys,

I just purchased a Factory Second Koaloha Tenor and it looks great!! The only noticeable "defect" is some glue showing by the bridge and it's barely noticeable. I chose Koaloha because of this site!! Never heard of them before but wanted to get the best bang for the buck.

Since I'm new to Ukes, I tuned the first string to a High G since I didn't know that Koaloha Tenors are strung at low G. The string was going out of tune and I'm afraid I stretched it out too much. I had no idea they sold it with the Low G. I don't see any cosmetic damage on the uke. Do I need to buy a new string sinced I stretched it too much?

BTW, Great site!! Trying to learn some basic stuff from Aldrine UU Minutes.

Last edited:
Congrats on your new KoAloha Tenor. I have one and love it. Playing it right now, in fact. I have mine strung re-entrant (High G). Since you are a beginner I will correct you by mentioning that you should refer to the G string (top) as the 4th string with the A string (bottom) being the 1st string. This will eliminate confusion down the road. Low G is preferable to some and a nice alternative for those that have multiple ukes. Re-entrant tuning is the more traditional tuning of the ukulele and lends to the unique nature of the instrument. Try it both ways. I prefer re-entrant tuning, but sometimes like using low G for some songs.

What strings are you using and how did you stretch them out? New strings take time to settle in and hold their tuning, so if you are using strings that are fairly new, be patient and get a decent digital tuner like a Snark tuner.

Good luck and if you are interested in what strings to use, I prefer Worth strings (clear heavy) on my KoAloha.