Beginner Ukes + Intonation = Big Deal?

blender

Reaction score
I admit I'm a noob, less than a year of playing (and this is my first string instrument). My question is, does a uke's intonation (as I understand it) *really* matter that much to us picking up the basics? Intonation seems to be an issue for many first-time uke purchases.

AFAIK "intonation" really kicks in when you start working up the fretboard? Am I wrong here?

I'm still playing up near the top of the fretboard (mostly chords, starting to finger pick). I doubt I'll be challenging Jake to a pick-off any time soon.... ;)

How big of an issue it is depends on how critical your ear is. Some pretty advanced Players have poor intonation (here I'm talking of Violin or Wind instrument players) whereas some beginners can hear that the note is off even though they can hardly play. For a player relatively new to the Uke it is important to get the 4 strings in tune. The limitations of the instrument will become more apparent as you advance up the fretboard. If it has obvious intonation problems on the first 4 or 5 frets it's probably a very poor instrument and you will quickly tire of it. I think what you are calling the top of the fretboard is actually the bottom. In short, if it sounds wrong to you seek an experienced second opinion.
A trained ear is also a useful skill- something that pretty much anyone can do. I've nothing against electronic tuners but I do believe that you should be able to tune the 6 strings of a guitar (or 4 of a Uke).
No fretted instrument really plays in tune (actually a lot of instruments don't). It's all a compromise but thankfully for most of us they are good enough.