Choosing an instrument for performance purposes

If you “love koaloha” I would stay with the koaloha. They have their own unique feel and is easy to play. I’m sure you can find a good deal on a used one with a pickup. My “performance” uke is my 2016 koaloha tenor. Good luck on your purchase!

Honestly I’m not that experienced yet and thought just using a mic would be more difficult to get right but seems like that could be easier
Nicole, I can relate to Anthony's perspective, as I love the sound of a nicely-mic'd uke. It has that pleasant airy quality that's just hard to achieve with a pickup. And if there's a competent sound engineer in the equation to get you an ample amount of gain before feedback, it can't be beat.

I figure a uke could be thought of as just another "voice" (albeit a softer one)... so why not just put a mic on it just like we do with our singing voice? One of my favorite players is a guy who goes by the name "Ukulele Uff," and he seems to prefer "mic'ing up", and does really well with that approach.

I will admit, however, that I have taken a liking to the sound I get with my humble Martin S-0 soprano (equipped with passive piezo disc) running into my inexpensive Behringer ADI-21 pre-amp/direct box/eq-tweaker, and then on into my little Kustom PA-50 portable p.a., which is generally the setup I use at the retirement home outings that I do nowadays (pretty much my only gigging). I have also done those outings with simply a mic on my voice and a second mic on my uke (and left the preamp at home), with very nice results.

To me, the main benefit of using a pickup is that it allows me to play in a little more "nuanced" fashion, without being tempted to "over-play."

So I kind of go back and forth on this issue, but the best part of that is-- the more I'm preoccupied with tinkering, the less I feel obligated to actually practice! It's all good! :)