Help - Buying my first Ukulele in the UK - Dealers/ Set up

JoelC92

Reaction score
Hello,

I am wanting to buy my first Ukulele and live in the UK. I have done some research and it seems the Lanikai LU21C and the Kala KA-C both seem good choices for a beginner.

The issues i am having are that i do not know which sellers are reputable and that i do not know which sellers will "set up" my Ukulele correctly as i am a novice.

So far i have decided to go for the Kala KA-C and have looked at two dealers: The Southern Ukulele Store and Courtney and Walker.

Courtney and Walker do state on their website that their prices do include a professional set up which is great. I cannot find the same for the Southern Ukulele Store.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited:
SUS have excellent customer service, just give them a ring and they'll do all they can to get the right ukulele for you. You can buy from them with confidance .

SUS do not do a set up, they just check to make sure the uke is'nt damaged in any way, i have bought a number of ukes from them and i have always had excellent service from them, i personally would'nt hesitate to buy from them again, i have never dealt with Courtney and Walker so cannot comment, it would be interesting to see the price difference between the 2 sellers given that Courtney and Walker give the instrument a professional set up

Hey Joel. I'm in more or less the same position as you, having not yet bought a Uke'.

However, I'm off to New York in a few hours for a week, and have identified a few decent stores with stock.