Help on buying mainland spruce top, or red cedar!!!!!

Bluejay188

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to ukulele underground, and I'm in need of a few tips. I want to buy a mainland concert ukulele, but I just can't decide on which to get. I have a mango concert already and I love it. So the choices are mainland spruce top, or red cedar, please help me decide.
Thanks!

I personally would go red cedar. The reports are the sound is beautifully mellow. I have a mahogany Mainland tenor, it's brighter (more harplike) but from listening to samples,the cedar has a nice soft sound. I personally am not a fan of spruce tops. They are really well-made ukes for the price. Mine came via Mike at Uke Republic, well-set-up and ready to go. I changed the strings (Aquila) out to Southcoast.

Generally spruce tops will be significantly brighter, I have a mahogany I really like..I have not tried their
red cedar as of yet..Good Luck and Happy Strummings

I like cedar more, but cedar dings and scratches easily. Just wanted to mention that to you.

Yes I have heard spruce top ukes are bright if you like bright sounding ukes. The cedar is not as mellow as a mahogany but it isn't too bright either and has a bit of a bark. I like my ceder top Mainland a lot. I have never tried a spruce top.

Got the cedar!

Just picked up the red cedar from mike in Nashville, it was a hard deciscion, but I got the cedar. Thanks guys Ill post pics later

I don't think you'll be disappointed. The red cedar has a great tone, and it's going to be very different from your mango uke, so you'll have a nice variety. I also have a Mainland mango concert and a red cedar soprano, so I know :).

I don't think you'll be disappointed. The red cedar has a great tone, and it's going to be very different from your mango uke, so you'll have a nice variety. I also have a Mainland mango concert and a red cedar soprano, so I know :).