Help ordering a friend a 400$ concert uke in NY

ajedrol

Reaction score
Greetings friends of the ukulele

I am a songwriter for 21 years and has long am interested in introducing me to the uke, I can bring many things both in homestudio and live. The fact is that some friends are going to be a few days in NY and I have in mind to ask one reward, something diferent than "my friends were in NY and brought me this shirt"

Now comes the fun:

-So far I have managed to focus a little, I think mine will be a concert, I have no experience with wood in uke. It also could could be a soprano.

-The priority is to be electro acoustic for the gigs, but could get away with an acoustic if not possible the electro-acoustic.

-I have a budget around $ 400.

-The purchase must be relatively simple, be able to send my friends to a store with two or three options depending on the stock.

I've been canvassing stores in NY and at the moment where I found something that could be interesting for that price is:

http://www.evmnyc.com/newfolk.html
(unfortunately do not have in stock Pono)

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ukuleles-Stringed-Instruments,New-Gear.gc?o1=5&o=2

Some of the guitar center options:

- Koa Anuenue Lani II Concert Cutaway Electric Ukulele

- Lanikai Koa Solid AAA-Electric Concert Ukulele Aoustic

- Lanikai SM-CE Limited Edition Acoustic-Concert Spalted Mango

Do you know somewhere else where they have stock of ukuleles of these features interesting?

I'd appreciate any guidance. Thank you very very much.

Last edited:
I'm certainly no expert in this, but here are a few words of wisdom I've been given (and some I learned on my own):

1. Never buy at Guitar Center. There's just nothing good in doing that.
2. If possible, go for solid wood. The aNueNue you mention is a laminate, but you could likely find the concert solid Koa O'ahu for about $400 if you look closely enough.