Perspective on upright, "fender" style, U-bass?

gbusker

Reaction score
10 years ago I started out playing double bass without amplification exclusively in our Ukulele club and this worked perfectly.
As some of the music got a bit faster and fitted a bass guitar better I moved to a precision.
I also used a U-bass for a while which was great (and nice and light).
I currently use a 5 string as I occasionally need a low "D" (why are ukulele pieces transposed to crazy keys!).

Since I really only need an electric bass for a few songs I am considering going back to upright and using a u-bass for the occasional song.
What's everyone else doing?

Gerd.

I started playing bass uke with my uke group in mid 2014. I played rhythm guitar for almost 50 years before and was often told I should play bass because I had good feel and tempo, but I didn't want to be encumbered by a big electric bass guitar, forget a standup bass. When I discovered bass ukes and mini bass guitars, I went for it. It's now my primary instrument, with tenor uke and harmonica close behind.

The reason our leader transposes to other than original keys is, certain keys lend themselves to the uke better, and there seems to be an aversion to the E chord, and a few others. Yes, E is a little awkward, but it didn't take me too long to get it, and I understand the value of uke friendly keys.

Ubass all the time...

To me (I am a double bass player primarily) the upright and the U-bass fill very similar roles musically (leaving aside the capability to bow). The Fender bass can be made to roughly approximate the tone of a double bass, but only very roughly, and it's really the preferred instrument for a great deal of rock and roll music that was originally conceived for electric bass guitar.