Worth trying the uke?

Emcconne

Reaction score
Hi, I started playing acoustic guitar in April (about 8 months ago) then started feeling elbow pain about 3 months in where the strumming arm rests on the guitar. I bought a new thinner acoustic hoping that would help…still no help so bought a smaller Taylor GS Mini. The pain has persisted so saw my doc - diagnosed as golfers elbow by my doc. I’m seeing a PT and doing daily exercises but still have pain. I’ve decided to take a break from the guitar for now but I'm worried that the pain may return once I start playing again. Would playing the uke hurt the elbow since it’s much smaller (the elbow doesn’t rest on the body)? I love the sound of the acoustic but I’m wondering if it would be worth switching to the ukulele? The sound is so different between the 2 and I don’t hear the uke in too many songs in the folk genre, my preferred genre. I appreciate the thoughts.

Welcome to the forum, and yes it’s worth a try. You’ve got nothing to lose and the cost of entry to the ukulele world small compared to the cost of a guitar.
Beware, some people never go back to their guitars.

If the pain is a result of repeated strumming motion the pivot point of your elbow may not change much from guitar to uke. Maybe you've tried posture/position playing changes to adjust away from the pain? Have you tried using a footrest? Sorry for your struggles and I hope you find comfort and an instrument that lets you enjoy it. If you haven't heard too many ukulele songs in the folk genre I suspect you haven't been looking for them.